Changes

by

Wow, it’s been so long since I’ve posted that the WordPress interface is wholly changed.

Believe it or not, Trading Tapes may in fact see a renaissance. Getting back to posting has required me to consider the reasons I’ve been away from it. Sure, time is always a viable excuse. It’s true, since school resumed (you’ll note my last post was 09/01/08, two days before classes started) my time outside of school has been slightly altered. For one, I thought that after applying some significant time on computer/paperwork (depending on the day), I naturally moved away from doing a similar exercise at home. Similarly, as my music posting decreased, so did my music blog viewing. There has also been a decrease in music listening. This I can’t explain so easily. While I think there have not been too many quality releases of late, that still doesn’t explain why I was not moved to post when Q-Tip’s Renaissance dropped, or Raphael Saadiq’s The Way I See It, or Plantlife’s Time Traveler, or N*E*R*D’s Seeing Sounds, or one of my favorite 2008 releases, Johnson & Jonson’s Johnson & Jonson; I could go on. The point is, there were a number of releases in the latter part of 2008 that should have moved me to post. They didn’t.

So, I guess there is no easy diagnosis, and no predictable prognosis for Trading Tapes. I am going to make an effort to listen to more music, e.g. less NPR and more music en route to work. I think that may have the best impact of bringing me back.

We’ll see.

2 Responses to “Changes”

  1. Ivan Says:

    Glad to see you back!

    …right?

  2. Peter Squire Says:

    yeah, i’m looking forward to getting back to music. I am hoping on capitalizing on the positive correlation between listening to music, and thinking about music…

    I feel like I’ve missed a ton of music out there. But, J. Period’s Best of…The Abstract has me feeling good of late…

Leave a Reply

