Reaching Outside the Box…

by

For me, one of the collateral effects of 2007’s hip-hop explosion has been an increased desire to reach outside the genre in the hope that I find some new soul music bubbling beneath the surface. That is, the quality of recent albums has had me listening to hip-hop all day long–and that’s a good thing. It’s not that I’m not always looking for newer, more diverse types of music, but lately I’ve been casting a larger net.

Well, I haven’t been terribly lucky. I previewed Angie Stone’s and Jill Scott’s new LPs, but wasn’t impressed. Even though the dearth of soul music in 2007 has been discussed here, for the sake of argument, I’m willing to think that maybe it’s just me and a desire for something less conventional.

Enter Steve Spacek and J. Davey. Spacek last released an album in 2005 and I believe J. Davey’s label issues are keeping their stuff away from a formal release. So I took a different angle: I came across some recent radio appearances by both artists.

Listening to DJ sets by familiar artists can often provide a unique window into their influences… and artists like Spacek and Jack Davey, who have a relatively eclectic taste in music, can make the exercise even more interesting–that is, when you’re looking for a departure from the usual.

The first link I offer is to Steve Spacek’s appearance on the Red Bull Music Academy’s new radio service. I always like to keep an ear to what dem Brits are bumpin. Here’s the playlist:

Sepalot – Touch Too Much – Eskapaden
George Mc Crae – I Get Lifted (Tangoterje Remix) – Supreme
Saian Supa Crew – Blow – Source
Main Concept – Was Geht`n – Buback
The Meters Vs Angie Stone – My Man – Scenario
Belleruche – The Itch – Hippoflex
The Katzenjammers – Cars – Red Hook
Gerardo Frisina – Conqart – Afro Art
Boozoo Bajou – Killer – !K7
Legends Of The Underground – Cafira (Seiji Mix) – K.Spirits
James Brown – Furtherout (Re-Edit) – CDR
Charlie Dark – Unknown – Ninja Tune
Small World – Develop A Style – Red Hook
A Tribe Called Quest – Love – Jive
Daz I-Kue – Get Down – Soundincolor
Tangoterje – High Jack – Supreme
Jumbonics – Baxophone – Tru Thoughts
Gumdrop – Sinking Feeling – Altered Vibes
Steve Spacek – Dollar – Soundincolor

The second link is from a J.Davey performance on the incomparable Chocolate City radio show. No playlist here, but rest assured, there’s some punk, some Prince, and a lot more to keep your attention–not to mention a discussion of their outlook and label politics. Click the picture for the audio link.

UPDATE:
In all fairness to Jilly from Philly, I just heard the full-length version for a couple tracks off her new album on Gilles Peterson’s most recent show, and both “Crown Royale” and “Insomnia” were excellent. On second thought, I might have to cop that album.

2 Responses to “Reaching Outside the Box…”

  1. Peter Squire Says:

    see my comment in recent post “RE Reaching Outside The Box…”

  2. On some otha, otha, otha… « Trading Tapes Says:

    […] some otha, otha, otha… If you recall, I’ve been on hip-hop overload of late–indeed, I haven’t even peeped American Gangster […]

Leave a Reply

