Ohmega Watts – “Just think…”

by

…what if you can just be a, kid again, and waste the day, never worry about life or tooth decay… – from “Model Citizen”

Yeah, I’m know it’s already been out for 3 days & I’ve yet to comment on it, but I’m working on (that is, just started bumpin’ it). Ohmega’s Watts Happening may be the most anticipated album for me this year (right up there with Jneiro Jarel’s Shape of Broad Minds project…and we’ll see if LB’s Get Back ever gets released in 2007). I was completely enamored with The Find; a genre-melding cornucopia of sounds, upbeat lyrics & production. That album definitely highlighted what I love about hip hip and I’ve been anxious to hear the new album.

Admittedly, I just got into it yesterday – it’s been a busy music week & I wanted to make sure I had some time to sit down and listen. Already, I’m really feeling “Model Citizen,” a laid back PSA on the role of adults (particularly fathers) in the lives of our children. Sorry, I couldn’t find a less corny way to describe it, but if you’ve read anything on here (specifically earlier posts of TT), you know I am wary of hip hop that has seemingly slipped into an acquisitive irresponsibility. Avoiding the soap box, “Model Citizen” is a thoughtful reflection on parent, media, and celebrity influence on kids; Ohmega also inconspicuously speaks on family dynamics, setting up a message that builds up the role of fathers, which is sorely needed – just the opinion of a long time hip hip listener.

He proves that it’s not unhip hop to be empathic:

A lot of kids can’t even say they love someone, cause nobody ever cared, but I stand correct, cause I’m somebody right here…

Offering himself as guide:

Cause here I am, a young man, with only hope to share, at one point & time, see I truly didn’t care, now I be the same light like the one that guided me

On “artists” (hip hop community and beyond perhaps?):

These artists neglect you, sayin’ they don’t give a what, they’re more concerned with making a buck

Just a feel good song that demonstrates that some in the hip hop community care. Interestingly, Ohmega Watts’s music is right up there with Jneiro & Madlib (among many) in stylistic experimentation; certainly moreso than some of these other “artists” who claim their artistic priority tops any community responsibility, e.g. “Yo, I’m just expressing myself through my art.” (Not hating, just highlighting a disparity.)

Certainly more to come on Watts Happening…stay tuned…

One Response to “Ohmega Watts – “Just think…””

  1. Ohmega Watts: “Jason Kidd & Vince Carter of this Hip Hop” « Trading Tapes Says:

    […] has been previously noted, the albums first highlight is “Model Citizen,” a mellow, positivity-perpetuating track […]

Leave a Reply

