Why the Soul Music Drought In ’07?

by

After getting finished listening to Ohmega Watts’ newest offering, Watts Happening, I continue to be flabbergasted by the quality hip-hop that we’ve heard in 2007–and we’re only three quarters of the way in, with LPs from Jay-Z (curious) and The Roots (egh…) on the way.

This is surely something to appreciate, but at the same time, I can’t think of a good R&B/Soul album that has dropped this year. I put this out there to get the brain-trust thinking: am I overlooking someone?

I’m an admitted will.i.am stan right now, and I’m really feeling his newest LP, Songs About Girls. But I refuse to put a producer who really ain’t a singer in this list–especially if he is only making the list by default. That album is fresh, in my opinion; but I’d like some more choices.

Squire?

5 Responses to “Why the Soul Music Drought In ’07?”

  1. Blog Feeds about Music » Archive » Why the Soul Music Drought In ‘07? Says:

    […] You can read the rest of this blog post by going to the original source, here […]

  2. Ivan Says:

    Jill Scott & Angie Stone are getting plenty of heavy rotation over at my crib.
    But otherwise, yeah, it was a slow soul year…

  3. Peter Squire Says:

    never really got into any Angie Stone album, I’ve tried…I have the new Jill Scott, but haven’t listened to it yet…too much good hip hip, I can’t focus on it…

  4. Reaching Outside the Box… « Trading Tapes Says:

    […] new LPs, but wasn’t terribly impressed. Even though the dearth of soul music in 2007 has been discussed here, for the sake of argument, I’m willing to think that maybe it’s just me and a […]

  5. Valentine’s Day/Coultrain « Trading Tapes Says:

    […] in October, Kyle and I lamented the lack of new soul, or rather the stale soul music of 2007. Coultrain’s The Adventures of […]

Leave a Reply

