Re Thoughts (on Tip’s “Work It Out”)

by

I have deja vu with this track, but I’ve gone through all my Q-Tip material and cannot lasso it. To my ears, it’s reminiscent of “The Frog,” from Sergio Mendes’ Timeless.

Q-Tip’s so consistent on the mic, and beyond his lyrics, one thing I love about him is his ear for good music. I can’t recall being disappointed with any track he’s either produced or picked to rhyme/sing on; same can be said about this beat. Good call on Kyle’s part RE his [Q-Tip’s] “Word Play”-esque rhyme style.

Leave a Reply

