New Selection Coming Soon…

by

It’s been a minute, but with Easter break beginning, and school-related work at a whisper (if at least for only a week), I will be throwing up a new album for discussion this weekend. In the mean times, head over to Stones Throw and check out the Dilla Interview series…particularly the most recently posted Part 5.

I’ll never forget when I bought Jeru’s “Wrath of the Math,” and unknowingly copped the edited version. I thought I was hoodwinked, thinking that the album was less because there was no cussing (I was 17). But, that album got lots of spins, and I learned to like the edit, especially on tracks like “The Bullshit;” the edits seem a purposefully construct of the track’s message.

The reason I bring edits up is because I love the edited version of Dilla’s “Fuck the Police” (see link above). The release of the single (the week after 9/11) notwithstanding, this is one of my favorite Dilla beats and is a track that brings me back to my Aunt’s house (where I was living the first time I heard it) and the dichotomous message: in light of the support the NYPD, PAPD, FDNY, etc. were receiving during and shortly after 9/11, Dilla’s “Fuck the Police” was highlighting the corruption of police, particularly in in his city. (The personal story behind Dilla doing the track was unknown to me until I just peeped the video at Stones Throw). For what it’s worth, I think the release date was just that, a release date; the contrast between the track and the feeling in the country and world at that time was coincidental, a product of the historical events of the previous week.

The edited version is great because unless you heard the original, you wouldn’t know it was edited; Dilla’s stop & go flow on the track matches perfectly to create a seamless edit…

Click here to purchase at UndergroundHipHop.com!
Jay Dee – Fuck The Police/ Move

Leave a Reply

