"Pilgrimage"

by

I was going to make a post about that track; I’m a big fan. I’m also really feeling “Mooch.” It reminds me of a sound check, or some lazy hour before closing time, with each element improvised; love the trumpet. In my head, there are flappers everywhere…and one at the door checking for the fuzz.

RE Run-DMC – They are so hip hop (as you and I may conceptualize it), but I think the rules now are entirely different from when they were doing their thing. Hip hop wasn’t the cash cow it is now and nobody wants to allow too much wriggle room within a system that has become so popular and lucrative. I’m not sure their innovativeness (as it was back then) would pay off now. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

